Blue moons and last suppers

image1-5

Blue moon, you saw me standing alone. Well, actually you saw me scrubbing the kitchen floor, but life is so seldom like the old songs, is it?

Last night was our final night in London, and Clover’s sixth birthday, so naturally we made the most of it by finally getting to grips with the house and the packing. A full moon – a blue moon no less- rose over London as I took a romantic walk to the Brockley Family Supermarket to buy yet another 20 bin bags.

I suspect the chap who runs the Brockley Supermarket thinks I’m a mass murderer, since all I have been buying lately are bin bags and kitchen cleaning equipment. Oh and beer – you don’t celebrate your daughter’s sixth birthday every day. Or clean up a crime scene, obviously – but I’m hoping he’s not the suspicious type.

Now everything we think we need for the year is in four rucksacks, and we’re ready to drive to Heathrow in the morning. It doesn’t seem like a lot of stuff for a year, to be honest, but again I don’t think we’d be able to carry any more.

So, final, final farewells. Including a rather fabulous roast beef supper with the family and a day out with dear friends. And that’s all folks…

Sophie Hannah says it better than I ever could

Leaving and Leaving You

When I leave your postcode and your commuting station,
When I leave undone the things that we planned to do,
You may feel you have been left by association,
But there is leaving and there is leaving you.

When I leave your town and the club that you belong to,
When I leave without much warning or much regret,
Remember, there’s doing wrong and there’s doing wrong to
You, which I’ll never do and I haven’t yet,

And when I have gone, remember that in weighing
Everything up, from love to a cheaper rent,
You were all the reasons I thought of staying
And you were none of the reasons why I went

And although I leave your sight and I leave your setting
And our separation is soon to be a fact,
Though you stand beside what I’m leaving and forgetting,
I’m not leaving you, not if motive makes the act.

One thought on “Blue moons and last suppers

Leave a Reply

